TN byelections to 18 assembly seats on Tuesday

CHENNAI: Voters in 18 meeting constituencies in Tamil Nadu will have an additional activity on Thursday -- first they have to cast their votes to select their representatives in the Parliament (from their Lok Sabha constituency) and then their representative in the state meeting.

Though there are 22 vacant meeting seats, byelections are held most effective in 18 constituencies on Thursday. The 18 meeting constituencies are Poonamallee, Perambur, Tiruporur, Sholinghur, Gudiyatham, Ambur, Hosur, Pappireddipapatti, Harur, Nilakkottai, Tiruvarur, Thanjavur, Manamadurai, Andipatti, Periyakulam, Sattur, Paramakudi and Vilathikulam.

Byelections in the rest four constituencies -- Aravakurichi, Sulur, Ottapidaram and Thiruparankundram – can be hung on May 19, in the final segment of Lok Sabha elections.

In Tiruvarur, the byelection is being held due to the dying of former leader minister M Karunanidhi on August 7 final yr. Thiruparankundram turned into vacant after the dying of AIADMK MLA A Okay Bose.

In Sulur, the byelection was once necessitated by the dying of AIADMK MLA A R Kanakaraj on March 21. The Hosur constituency turned into vacant after AIADMK minister P Balakrishna Reddy was once convicted in a case.

In all different meeting constituencies, the byelection is being held due to the disqualification of the AIADMK MLAs who confirmed their allegiance to TTV Dhinakaran and jailed chief V Okay Sasikala. Speaker P Dhanapal disqualified the 18 MLAs.

The result of the byelections will lead to fascinating political tendencies in Tamil Nadu. After the byelections, the ruling AIADMK must get a minimum of 118 members in the meeting to continue in energy.

TN byelections to 18 assembly seats on Tuesday TN byelections to 18 assembly seats on Tuesday Reviewed by Kailash on April 17, 2019 Rating: 5
Powered by Blogger.