Lok Sabha elections: Factions prevail but some surprises

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The Congress on Saturday evening finalized the record of 12 candidates out of the 16 constituencies the party might be contesting in Kerala. Exclusion of seven-time MP Okay V Thomas and collection of firebrand chief Rajmohan Unnithan as the candidate for Kasaragod are the surprises in the record.
Ernakulam MLA Hibi Eden, whose candidature was sabotaged in the final minute through Thomas in 2009, will be the candidate for Ernakulam parliament constituency.

Even after day-long discussions held in different levels in New Delhi, the Congress leaders couldn’t reach a consensus on candidates for Attingal, Alappuzha, Vadakara and Wayanad constituencies. AICC president Rahul Gandhi will finalize the candidates for these constituencies and a press release is anticipated on Sunday.

The first record of the Congress is a mix of experience and early life. Along with Hibi, Youth Congress state president Dean Kuriakose (Idukki) and Youth Congress chief Ramya Haridas (Alathur) found a place in the record. Sitting MPs Shashi Tharoor, Kodikkunnil Suresh, Anto Antony, M Okay Raghavan and ex-MP Okay Sudhakaran are the skilled arms in the record.

T N Prathapan was the unanimous selection for Thrissur and so was Benny Behannan for Chalakkudy seat. In Pathanamthitta, regardless that there was stiff opposition in opposition to the candidature of Anto Antony, the top command cleared his identify as Oommen Chandy and Ramesh Chennithala stood for him.

It was the dispute between Chandy and Chennithala that behind schedule the announcement of Wayanad candidate. Chandy was pitching for T Siddique but the ‘I’ workforce was no longer in a position to provide the sitting seat to an ‘A’ workforce nominee.

In Alappuzha, Shanimol Usman is learnt to have expressed unwillingness to contest and the party is making plans to field MLA Adoor Prakash. Prakash’s identify was virtually finalized for Attingal however with uncertainty over Alappuzha, choice on Attingal was also put on dangle. Sources stated Usman’s identify is being thought to be for Wayanad too.

It may be reliably learnt that, for Vadakara, sitting MP and KPCC president Mullappally Ramachandran had urged the identify of Youth Congress chief and Kozhikode corporation councillor Vidya Balakrishnan. However, other leaders sought after a senior chief to tackle CPM’s P Jayarajan right here.

Earlier in the day, all efforts to field Chandy in the Lok Sabha election became futile as he was no longer in a position to yield to the top command’s drive. Though leaders from Kerala recommended the party top command to persuade him to contest from any of the constituencies in central Travancore, Chandy was no longer in a position to speak about about it.

“Oommen Chandy is one of those chief who can win from any seat in the state. But he has made it clear he needs to work in Kerala. Hence, he isn't keen to contest,” stated Chennithala after the screening committee assembly.

While Thomas stated he was deeply hurt through the decision to disclaim him a price ticket, the marvel access of Unnithan in Kasaragod has disenchanted the district Congress committee there. The identify of Subbayya Rai was doing the rounds for Kasaragod until he was changed through Unnithan.

Lok Sabha elections: Factions prevail but some surprises Lok Sabha elections: Factions prevail but some surprises Reviewed by kailash soni on March 17, 2019 Rating: 5
Powered by Blogger.