Delay in naming candidate worries Congress workers

Dharwad: The prolong via Congress in announcing its candidate for Dharwad Lok Sabha seat has left birthday celebration workers in a catch 22 situation. While BJP workers have completed the first spherical of assembly voters, Congress cadre continues to be questioning methods to go forward.
Dharwad will vote on April 23, because of this simplest five weeks are left for campaigning. “Let anybody be given the price ticket. The top command must announce the name at the earliest in order that we will be able to start arrangements. Without realizing who would be the candidate how can we go forward?” said Vasant Arkachar, who has been in Congress for the ultimate two and part a long time. For dependable Congressmen dreaming of recapturing Dharwad which was once a Congress bastion for 4 a long time, the uncertainty over the candidate in each election has turn into a major setback.

Contesting an election involves huge expenditure and no aspirant will start campaigning unless he is formally confident of the price ticket. “Once we begin campaigning with the legitimate nod from the birthday celebration, we should put money into birthday celebration workers on a daily basis. Even if birthday celebration workers aren't very demanding, the costs run into lakhs as the constituency is unfold over several meeting segments. If the birthday celebration offers the price ticket to someone else at the ultimate moment, all our efforts go in vain. Hence, no aspirant begins campaigning until they get the price ticket. This method we get little time for campaigning while the BJP applicants would have finished their second spherical of campaigning. This is likely one of the the reason why Congress has not been able to re-capture this constituency,” said an aspirant.

Bastion not more

D P Karmarkar who was once health minister in Nehru’s cupboard was once elected twice from this constituency in 1952 and 1957. Sarojini Mahishi who was once a minister in Indira Gandhi’s cupboard won from Dharwad North in 1962, 1967, 1971 and 1977. Mahishi shifted to Janata Party and misplaced to D Ok Naikar of the Congress in 1980. Naikar went on to hold the fort in 1984, 1989 and 1991.

Naikar’s dream run came to a halt in 1996 when industry multi-millionaire Vijay Sankeshwar entered the fray as BJP candidate. Sankeshwar won the election via defeating his closest rival Shankaranna Munavalli of Janata Dal via a margin of 40351 votes. Naikar had been driven to third place. Sankeshwar won once more in 1998.

Former legislative council chairman Veeranna Mattikatti was once the Congress candidate in the 1999 election against Sankeshwar. His candidature was once announced at the ultimate moment and yet Mattikatti came a close second to Sankeshwar.

The changed political equation within BJP made Sankeshwar give up the birthday celebration prior to 2004 elections paving means for Prahlad Joshi to fill the slot. Joshi won via 83,078 votes against B S Patil. Subsequently, Joshi has emerged victorious in 2009 and 2014 successful against Manjunath Kunnur and Vinay Kulkarni respectively.

Delay in naming candidate worries Congress workers Delay in naming candidate worries Congress workers Reviewed by kailash soni on March 17, 2019 Rating: 5
Powered by Blogger.