Nine Odisha districts get new SPs ahead of polls

BHUBANESWAR: Nine districts got new superintendents of police (SPs) as the federal government effected a major reshuffle of IPS and senior OPS officers on Tuesday ahead of the simultaneous Lok Sabha and assembly elections in Odisha.

Total 29 officers including many on the rank of extra director normal (ADG), inspector normal (IG) and deputy inspector normal (DIG) transferred and given new assignments.

Puri SP Sarthak Sarangi and Rourkela SP Umashankar Dash exchanged their puts. Sarangi had faced criticism after violence broke out in Puri in October final 12 months all the way through a bandh known as by way of a local outfit protesting advent of queue device for devotees visiting the Jagannath Temple. He was also under fire when the Jagannath Temple shut for almost 12 hours following protests over police assault on servitors in December.

Sarah Sharma, who's lately serving as SP, Biju Patnaik State Police Academy (BPSPA), transferred as new SP, Gajapati. Similarly, Deogarh SP Anupama James has been transferred as SP, Dhenkanal while sub-divisional police officer (SDPO), Barbil, Rahul Jain will change James as new SP, Deogarh.

Malkangiri SDPO Sarvana Vivek M has been posted as SP, Rayagada as the incumbent Rahul PR was transferred to Crime Branch (special process drive). Baliguda SDPO Kusalkar Nitin Dugdu will head the police drive in Nabarangaour district.

Senior Odisha Police Service officers--Amulya Kumar Das and Radha Binod Panigrahi have been appointed as SPs of Khurda and Cuttack police districts respectively.

The state executive also transferred law and order IG Amitabh Thakur to important armed police wing while Berhampur DIG Ashis Kumar Singh is posted as DIG, intelligence and in-charge chief minister’s security.

The BJP recently met state home secretary Asit Tripathy difficult transfer of Thakur and Singh accusing either one of working on the behest of the ruling celebration.

Among the senior IPS officers, director, intelligence Sunil Roy has been promoted and appointed as special director normal, intelligence. Sanjeeb Panda, who's lately serving as shipping commissioner, was given the the most important assignment of ADG, law and order ahead of polls.

Binyanand Jha, who was attached to home department, was transferred as ADG and director, investigation, Odisha Human Rights Commission. Sidhartha Mahadu Narvane will head the Human Rights Protection Cell (HRPC) of the Odisha Police as the present HRPC ADG Mahendra Pratap has been transferred as ADG, Prisons.

After promoted to IG rank, crime branch DIG S Shyni has been posted as IG, BPSPA. While Himansu Kumar Lal is transferred as DIG, Koraput; Yatindra Koyal will function IG, Berhampur.

While Vivekananda Sharma and Padmini Sahoo have been transferred to Police Headquarters and Commissionerate Police; Pratyush Diwakar will function SP cum Aide-de-camp to the governor.
Nine Odisha districts get new SPs ahead of polls Nine Odisha districts get new SPs ahead of polls Reviewed by kailash soni on February 12, 2019 Rating: 5
Powered by Blogger.