Minister Khader emerges victorious for 4th term

MANGALURU: Karnataka minister UT Khader emerged victorious once more for the fourth time consecutively from Mangaluru constituency.

After the overall spherical of counting, Khader, who's the incumbent minister for meals, civil supplies and consumer affairs, bagged 80,813 votes against his rival Santhosh Kumar Rai from BJP. Rai bagged 61,074 votes while JD(S) candidate K Ashraf secured three,692 votes. Other candidates Nithin Kuthar from (CPM) bagged 2,372 votes and Usman from MEP secured 586 votes. NOTA were given 821 votes.

Though there are five candidates, a immediately combat was witnessed within the constituency between Khader and Rai. In 2013, Khader had bagged 55.59% of the polled votes, while BJP candidate Chandrahasa Ullal may just safe 32.29% vote proportion. The nearest candidate from SDPI had bagged 4,808 votes (three.85%), however the birthday celebration did not contest this 12 months.

Mangaluru constituency, which was earlier referred to as Ullal, is being represented via U T Khader ever since 2007 after the death of his father and MLA U T Fareed. In 2007 bye-election, Khader had bagged 46,271 votes against BJP candidate Chandrashekhara Uchila, who secured 38,239 votes. In 2008, Khader won the election via securing 50,718 votes against BJP candidate Padmanabha Kottari, who bagged 43,669 votes. Meanwhile, in 2013, Khader’s victory margin higher when he bagged 69,450 votes against BJP candidate Chandrahasa Ullal, who secured 40,339 votes.

In its 35 years of BJP’s historical past, the only birthday celebration candidate who won from erstwhile Ullal constituency was K Jayaram Shetty in 1994. In the past 15 assembly elections, Congress won the seat 11 instances while CPM won twice in 1962 and 1983.
Minister Khader emerges victorious for 4th term Minister Khader emerges victorious for 4th term Reviewed by kailash soni on May 15, 2018 Rating: 5
Powered by Blogger.