Bengal’s bloodiest poll day claims 17 lives

KOLKATA: At least 17 people died because the state’s villages went to vote for the panchayat poll on Monday, making it the bloodiest day of a protracted season and preserving the 2018 rural vote true to Bengal’s tradition of blood-soaked election narratives. The first lives lost were that of a pair burnt in their sleep in South 24-Parganas’ Kakdwip, hours before the beginning of polling, and the demise meter ticked with metronomic regularity nearly each and every waking hour after that.

Miscreants intimidated voters in queue, snatched poll bins and singed poll papers, opened fire at political opponents, hurled bombs at cops and forced poll officers to leave booths at places, elevating critical questions over the knowledge of the State Election Commission’s determination to hold the poll on a unmarried day after the 2013 rural election noticed a vote spread over 5 days.

Monday’s toll was once simply the easiest 24-hour count in Bengal’s contemporary electoral history though state executive officers argued that the determine was once less than that seen all through the 2013 panchayat poll, when 25 people died on the 5 days when polling came about.

The SEC took cognisance of just six poll-related deaths and took recourse to the measuring tape to conclude six others were “non-poll deaths” as they occurred greater than 200 metres away from polling booths.

The union ministry of home affairs sought a report from the state executive on the violence as opposition events hit the street to protest in opposition to the SEC. The CPM staged an indication in entrance of the SEC administrative center and the BJP knocked on Raj Bhavan’s doors to bitch in opposition to the poll panel. The SEC said it was once analyzing all of the proceedings and would take a choice on re-poll in keeping with a home division report.

Many of the deaths have occurred in districts like Murshidabad, South 24-Parganas, Coochbehar, Nadia and Hooghly, which have additionally seen a disproportionately high collection of Trinamool “walkover” winners. The opposition interpreted the massacre in these areas as a centered Trinamool bid to achieve regulate over as many panchayat seats as possible forward of the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

Unconfirmed reports said a Trinamool Congress supporter was once killed in Nadia’s Tehatta. Krishnapada Sarkar’s family members claimed he was once targeted by means of opposition supporters.

The deaths were additionally divided across events, with the Trinamool claiming a minimum of 5 of the lifeless as their very own, indicating a tacit understanding amongst and counter-resistance by means of supporters of all opposition events, together with the BJP and the CPM. Senior Trinamool Congress minister Partha Chatterjee accused the opposition events and Independents of ganging up in opposition to the ruling birthday party.

The 5 Trinamool males who died came from Nadia’s Shantipur and Nakashipara, South 24-Parganas’ Bhangar and North Dinajpur’s Raiganj. People standing in queue at a Shantipur sales space lynched Trinamool employee Sanjit Pramanik as he tried to take regulate of the sales space. The angry mob then chased away miscreants, who rode in on 12 motorbikes, after which set the bikes on fire. CPM supporters chased Trinamool employee Bhola Dafadar at Bilkumari in Nadia’s Nakashipara, took him to a neighbouring house’s roof and killed him. Another Trinamool employee, Arif Ali Gaji, was once killed inside of a Kultali polling sales space; the Trinamool accused the SUCI, which denied the price. Another Trinamool employee died in South Dinajpur’s Tapan.

The challenge to the Trinamool came from numerous assets, ranging from the Naxal-backed Save Land Livelihood Environment Protection Committee “Independents” in Bhangar to opposition-backed Independents in East Midnapore’s Nadigram and West Midnapore’s forest hamlets. West Burdwan’s Kanksa noticed Trinamool “outsiders” being crushed again and West Midnapore’s Keshpur noticed cops themselves being forced to retreat amid heavy brick-batting.

But it was once the opposition that bore the brunt of the violence. CPM couple Debu and Usha Das were burnt to demise in their sleep in Kakdwip, fuelling stress within the area. Independent supporter Sahin Shiekh was once killed and 7 others had bullet wounds in Murshidand’s Naoda, Congress district chief Abu Taher’s turf. BJP activist Tapan Mandal was once killed in Murshidabad’s Beldanga. CPM supporters Apu Manna and Jaggeswar Das fell to bullets fired by means of motorbike-borne Trinamool miscreants at Khodambari in East Mindapore’s Nandigram. BJP activist Tapan Mandal was once killed in Murshidabad and, in North 24-Parganas’ Amdanga, CPM activist Toibur Gazi was once killed in a clash with Trinamool males. Trinamool minister Rabindranath Ghosh went to a Coochbehar sales space and slapped a BJP polling agent, who ran out of the sales space to hunt his protection after being driven out by means of Trinamool males.

Trinamool supporters damaged poll bins and papers in Jyangra, on Kolkata’s northern fringes, in Jalpaiguri’s Rajganj as well as in Murshidabad’s Beldanga and Rejinagar and Birbhum’s Mohammadbazar. Ballot bins were taken away from polling booths in Hooghly’s Pursura and Tarakeshwar. And, in East Burdwan’s Memari, once a CPM bastion where the birthday party could not even field candidates for the zilla parishad this time, Trinamool males snatched poll bins from Kabirpur Primary School. Similar reports came in from Chandrakona and Egra’s Jhumki.

Bengal’s bloodiest poll day claims 17 lives Bengal’s bloodiest poll day claims 17 lives Reviewed by kailash soni on May 15, 2018 Rating: 5
Powered by Blogger.