Congress choses new faces, gives ticket to 3 youngsters

Dharwad: Apart from accommodating sitting MLAs, Congress has determined to give a chance to recent faces to take a look at and win the seats that the party had misplaced in previous assembly elections.
Mohemmed Ismail Tamatgar, who had contested the previous two elections as Janata Dal (S) nominee has now been given a price ticket by way of Congress for the Hubballi-Dharwad West constituency. He will face sitting BJP MLA Arvind Bellad. Sources said Tamatgar Congress was accommodated following pressure from nationwide degree Muslim leaders.

In the 2008 assembly election, Tamatgar had secured 14,200 (13.07 in step with cent) votes to emerge 3rd within the race. BJP’s Chandrakant Bellad had gained the election.

In 2013, Tamatgar had got 30,312 votes (23.9 in step with cent), just 509 votes not up to Congress candidate and previous minister S R Morey who was 2nd. Bellad had emerged victorious after securing 42,003 (33.1 in step with cent) votes.

Following variations with local JD(S) leaders, Tamatgar had joined Congress in 2014-2015. Senior corporator Deepak Chinchore and previous minister S R Morey had been different contenders for the price ticket.

“A delegation of nationwide degree leaders from Muslim community had met AICC president Rahul Gandhi and demanded that 18 seats be given to Muslims. The Congress had already ready an inventory which had 13 Muslims and it was forced to incorporate five extra names and choose Ismail for Hubballi-Dharwad West,” a senior Congress chief from New Delhi who didn't want to be named said.

Speaking to TOI from New Delhi, Tamatgar said that all the leaders within the party within the constituency had supported his candidature and expressed confidence that he would justify his selection.

Dr Mahesh Nalwad, who had contested against BJP’s Jagadish Shettar in 2013 and misplaced has again been given the price ticket to contest from Hubballi-Dharwad Central.

Young businessman Vinod Asuti shall be Congress candidate for Navalgund constituency and he's a brand new face. Former minister Ok N Gaddi, Lohit Naiker, Vijay Kulkarni and ZP vice chairman Shivanand Karigar had been the opposite contenders. Asuti belongs to Kuruba community and is said to be with reference to chief minister Siddaramaiah’s family.

Sitting MLAs Vinay Kulkarni (Dharwad), Prasad Abbayya (H-D East(Reserve)), Santosh Lad (Kalghatagi), C S Shivalli (Kundgol) had been re-nominated to contest from their respective constituencies.

Congress choses new faces, gives ticket to 3 youngsters Congress choses new faces, gives ticket to 3 youngsters Reviewed by kailash soni on April 16, 2018 Rating: 5
Powered by Blogger.