Majlis Park-South Campus corridor of Delhi Metro's Pink Line inaugurated

NEW DELHI: The over 20 km-long Majlis Park-Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus segment of the much-awaited Delhi Metro's Pink Line was on Wednesday inaugurated right here, taking the operational span of the speedy transit community to 252 km.

Union Minister for Housing and Urban Affairs (Independent Charge) Hardeep Singh Puri and Delhi leader minister Arvind Kejriwal ceremonially flagged it off from the Metro Bhawan all through a serve as.

The end-to-end go back and forth time of the Majlis Park-Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus stretch is 34 minutes and will cost Rs 40.

The new corridor has, for the primary time, also connected the north and south campuses of the Delhi University, on the metro community, which can also be commuted in 40 minutes.

With the opening of the 21.56 km-long segment, the Delhi Metro's operational community will increase to 252 km, a senior DMRC authentic mentioned.

Passenger services on the stretch will start from 6 pm onwards from each Majlis Park and Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus stations simultaneously, the authentic mentioned.

It would end up a big boon for commuters, particularly scholars, who until now have to go back and forth both by way of highway from the North Campus or take the Airport Line metro until Dhaula Kuan and trip again on highway.

The North Campus house of the Delhi University already has a metro station -- Vishwavidyalaya, which falls on the Yellow Line that connects Samaypur Badli to Huda City Centre in Gurgaon.

"The ticket from Vishwavidyalaya station to Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus station will cost Rs 50. On Sundays and national holidays anyway, the fare is less than the regular cost on all lines," the senior authentic mentioned.

This segment, which has 12 stations, is part of the 59 km-long Majlis Park Shiv Vihar corridor (Pink Line Line 7) of Delhi Metro's Phase three. All the stations have platform-screen doorways and colour-coded signages.

Azadpur Station (with Yellow Line) is without doubt one of the three interchange stations on the Pink Line stretch that opened lately, the opposite two being, Netaji Subhash Place (with Red Line) and Rajouri Garden (Blue Line).

The Commissioner for the Metro Rail Safety (CMRS), which inspected the stretch from February 26-28, has given the clearance for the mission.

The stations falling on the operational stretch are -- Majlis Park, Azadpur, Shalimar Bagh, Netaji Subhash Place, Shakurpur, Punjabi Bagh West, ESI Hospital, Rajouri Garden, Mayapuri, Naraina Vihar, Delhi Cantt and Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus.

Out of the 12 stations, eight are increased and the remainder underground. As with the recently-opened Magenta Line, broad-sized coaches from the new rolling stock, will ply on the usual gauge Pink line.

Metro's new generation trains, which can run without drivers, can even run on this segment the place a complicated Communication Based Train Control (CBTC) signalling technology that may facilitate the motion of trains with a frequency of 90 to 100 seconds can be pressed into service.

However, for an preliminary period of two-three years, the trains could have drivers.

"For the first time travelators have been installed at the foot over bridges to facilitate interchange at Rajouri Garden and South Campus stations," the authentic mentioned.

The 21.56 km-long corridor, once opened, can even reduce metro go back and forth time between Dwarka 21 (Blue Line) and Rithala (Red Line) by way of over 16 minutes; and Rajouri Garden and Azadpur by way of nearly 23 minutes, the DMRC mentioned.
Majlis Park-South Campus corridor of Delhi Metro's Pink Line inaugurated Majlis Park-South Campus corridor of Delhi Metro's Pink Line inaugurated Reviewed by kailash soni on March 14, 2018 Rating: 5
Powered by Blogger.